page tools: 
Home ::
About Us :: Governance
email page print page small type large type


A four-member corporate Board of Directors and a 22-member Advisory Council oversee the University of Chicago Charter School alongside Charter and Campus directors. University of Chicago leaders sit on the Board of Directors. Parent leaders, community leaders and University leaders are members of the Advisory Council.

The University of Chicago Charter School established the Parent-Teacher Advisory Committee (P-TAC) in 2017, in response to Illinois State Senate Bill 100, Public Act 99-456, which enacted new provisions concerning student discipline in Illinois schools. UChicago Charter's P-TAC works with its Board of Directors and Advisory Council to develop guidelines on pupil discipline, including school searches and bullying. The P-TAC also supports the Board in outreach to parents regarding available early intervention procedures for students who demonstrate risk-factor behaviors.

Board of Directors

Darren Reisberg
Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Deputy Provost, University of Chicago
President, UChicago Charter Board of Directors

Derek R. B. Douglas
Vice President for Civic Engagement and External Affairs, University of Chicago

Ivan Samstein
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, University of Chicago

Dillan Siegler
Associate Provost, Programs and Leadership Development, University of Chicago

Advisory Council

Otto Ali
Parent Representative, Carter G. Woodson Campus

Patrice Bledsoe
Parent Representative, Donoghue Campus

Denise Brown
Parent Representative, Woodlawn Campus

Donna Dortzbach
Parent Representative, North Kenwood/Oakland Campus

Julie Getzels
Executive Vice President and General Counsel & Secretary, Art Institute of Chicago

Harold (Hank) Handelsman
Executive Vice President and General Counsel, The Pritzker Organization, LLC

John Mark Hansen (Mark)
Charles L. Hutchinson Distinguished Service Professor and Senior Advisor to the President, University of Chicago

Chris Harris Sr.
Senior Pastor, Bright Star Church
CEO, Bright Star Community Outreach, Inc. (BSCO)

Virgil Jones
Real Estate Broker, Baird and Warner

Priscilla Kersten
President, Square One Foundation

Patricia C. Lane (Patty)
Community Leader and Volunteer

Charles A. Lewis (Chuck)
Chairman, Lewis-Sebring Family Foundation

Laura Van Peenan
Managing Director, Investment Banking, William Blair & Company

Lee Pratter
Senior Director of Development, Chicago Housing Authority

Sandi Preston
Strategy Director, Translation LLC

Margot Pritzker
Founder and President, WomenOnCall

Darren Reisberg, Governing Board Chair
Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Deputy Provost, University of Chicago

Sara Ray Stoelinga
Sara Liston Spurlark Director, Urban Education Institute (UEI)
Clinical Professor, University of Chicago Committee on Education
(Ex-officio 2015)

Parent-Teacher Advisory Committee (P-TAC)

Aneesa Sergeant,
Assistant Director - Donoghue Campus

Tammi Polingo,
Social Worker - Woodlawn Campus

Donna Dortzbach,
Parent - North Kenwood/Oakland Campus

Denise Brown,
Parent - Woodlawn Campus

Patrice Bledsoe,
Parent, Donoghue Campus

Otto Ali,
Parent, Carter G. Woodson Campus

powered by finalsite